Seaweed and Sunshine!

I spent a lovely few hours this afternoon having a solo walk along one of my favorite beaches...Indian Brook! The sun was glorious and there was enough wind to animate the water. One of the things i love to do there is find a few interesting stones....this beach is only stones of varying sizes....and altho it can be a bit difficult to walk on, it is beautiful and always interesting. Today i found something i haven't seen before....this dried out seaweed stuff. It was all over the place and what i loved was where it had attached itself to stones while still wet and then in the drying, looked very much like skin stretched over bone....the colours and folds were just so beautiful. This piece was particularly interesting and as i held it up to look at it more closely, i caught a glimpse of the sun thro it......

I also found another amazing sculptured piece, still attached by a long tendril to a small stone....i was so captivated that I just had to bring it home....which was quite an adventure given the fragility of the dried out seaweed and the rather gusty wind! I'm sure I looked a bit crazy holding this piece of seaweed to my chest with one hand, cradling the stone in the other and twisting myself so as to save it from breaking in the wind! What we do for art eh!

Anyway, pretty lovely day....which by the way is my birthday .... and i've had lots of lovely birthday wishes, made a great pizza with Terry and now i'm heading back downstairs to have cake (made by Terry) and ice cream! Doesn't get much better than this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.