Sailfish

By sailfish

Reflecting on the past . . .

My wee Fuji F11 has given up the ghost - and I'm really sad to see it go.

I bought this little camera to carry around, put in my pocket, to take happy snaps. I got an underwater housing for it so that I could have a camera with me on dives where I didn't want the hassle of a housed dSLR and strobes.

This camera has been on some of my favourite dives, some of my deepest dives, and performed well beyond it's reported capabilities despite being in a salty, damp environment for much of the time, being dropped, decompressed in aeroplane holds, repeatedly packed and unpacked, rattled around on boats and generally mistreated - here are some of it's finest moments;

Pleurobranchus membranaceus on the wreck of the Fairweather V, Loch Broom

Wreck of the Justicia, Malin Head, taken at 60+m, 20m past it's depth limit and not enough light to take photographs!

Wreck of the Empire Heritage, Malin Head. Stills from a video taken at 60m in ambient light - pretty impressive for a point and shoot!

Tompot Blennie on the wreck of the Afton, Isle of Man

Cuthona caerula, a nudibranch or sea slug, Outer Bowes, Isle of Man.

Well done little Fuji, enjoy your retirement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.