OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Hare chase

I walked out to the Head of Holland today. I don't know why there are several 'holland' place-names in Orkney- must look it up.

I'd seen a couple of hares and then four came tearing along in a line. I couldn't get them all in, or sharp!, but here is one. They ignored me completely. It was, of course, three bucks in hot pursuit of a doe. I always feel quite sorry for the female. I have put more on Flickr.. I think this reminds me of the old photos of horses galloping etc by Eadward Muybridge.
I found another raven nest. I think that's the first time I've found raven's nests in two successive days. It got very windy as I walked out to the Head. I knew I was just putting off turning into the strong wind to go home. It seems to make the distance twice as long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.