Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Cactus

The Saguaro is the largest cactus in the US, commonly up to 12 m tall. It takes a bowling pin shape for about the first 35 years. At about 65 years it has achieved its maximum number of ribs and begins to branch. It can grow up to 50 arms.

Saguaros are long lived, averaging life spans of 85 years, but can live up to 200 years. Flowers bloom in May to June just before monsoons, opening at night and staying open until midday the next day.

The greatest abundance of Saguaro occurs in the Arizona Upland. Its native range borders tropics in warm arid deserts. The Saguaro flower is the Arizona state flower. Petals are spirally arranged and white. Flowers are clustered on ends of arms and have the aroma of ripe melons.


----------------------

We have passed by this particular cactus en route to the swimming pool many many times this week. Every single time, this standing giant has taken on a different artistic angle. Depending on the lighting, the cactus has appeared dark green showing its linear detail. It has also appeared to have a halo around it while backlit by the sun. In the evening, it produces the most interesting silhouette. Today as we were driving past this cactus in the golf cart, I noticed the full sun shining on its back. As soon as everyone unloaded from the cart, I took a small little field trip back to the cactus. Just me, the golf cart, and my camera.

As I pulled up to my destination, I noticed a group of people enjoying a "happy hour" nearby. I parked the cart and asked them if I could take a couple of pictures of their cactus. "Oh yeah, of course you can. Take as many as you want.........and hey, if you give us five bucks, we'll let you photograph us too". Of course I love this kind of banter so I responded, "wow, five bucks, now that's a deal". "ha ha ha ha ha ha" they chuckled. So I took a few photos pleased to have such eager permission to be standing in their front yard. As I was driving away in the cart I yelled, "thanks for the photo.....if I make a million on it, I'll send some money your way". "Now that's a deal" they shot back. I got my blip but even better (according to my husband), I got my story.

Today, my husband and I spent the day in Scottsdale. My in-laws played with our kids all day and insisted that we check out this cool little town on our own. We had a nice lunch of chicken tacos at an outside bar and grill and explored the town on foot and by trolly. The city is divided into unique sections. There is the art gallery walk. The fashion district. The waterfront district. The nightlife. And the entertainment district. All within about a couple mile stretch. We were able to see all of the sections and experience the historic culture and western flair. Oh how I wanted to come home with a hot new pair of cowgirl boots. Next time....

A couple of funny little things that our son said today when we were in Scottsdale. As they were riding along in the golf cart, he said to my mother-in-law, "Mama, this my best vacation ever for learning about nature". Then he said, "Mama, I'm getting tired of waving at people (because every single cart that you pass here enchanges a friendly wave and hello). Tired of waving, that's a new one.

Day 6 in Arizona.....a big fan but only for vacation. My husband and I agreed today that we would feel land locked, as we have lived near lakes, rivers, and the ocean our entire lives. A huge bond that we share......is our love for wide open water. But the pools are pretty nice here!!!! And I don't do really well with heat. I start to melt when the temp gets over 80 degrees. But for vacation, this place is AMAZING!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.