Plus ça change...

By SooB

Country Pile

Mr B's train back to London was quite late, and I was heading off for a further child-free night at my sister's in Durham, so we passed the day with some driving about the Peak District. First stop was Chatsworth. Not really my cup of tea, to be honest, so we didn't go in the house, but wandered about the grounds happily for a couple of hours. Mr B only had his work shoes with him, so any proper hiking was out.

Anyway, it's a proper big place. This is taken from outside the walls - it wasn't actually open when we arrived - but had the best sky of the day. I've tried to make it look all rich and burnished - but this monitor is rubbish for judging that sort of effect so it's probably a bit overdone. Appropriate really.

A big pub lunch (am dreading the next blipblubberbuster weigh in...) and then off for some more driving about. I've not visited the Peak District much but it is just the kind of landscape I like. Apart from all the motorbikes that is.

After Mr B headed off on his train, I headed north again, beginning to get thoroughly sick of driving on motorways. Anyway, lovely evening catching up with my sister, who I don't see nearly often enough. Surprisingly good meal out at a local restaurant (surprising because my sis said as we were walking to it "I've not been here for ages. Last time the food was rubbish and I said I wouldn't come back.") Much wine and gossip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.