Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Carlsbad's Flower Fields

Before leaving Carlsbad and the coast to head inland and home today, we drove just a couple miles south to view the the Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch. Their season is March 1 through May 9. The view was spectacular.

We did not pay the token fee to go in, but we did make the drive all the way around the facility and viewed from every possible angle. This place boasts 50-plus acres of Giant Tecolote ranunculus blooms, which is a member of the buttercup family.

There is also a sweet pea maze and a greenhouse of poinsettias. On one end of the property is a 300-by-170 section of red, white, and blue anemone designed in the image of an American flag. A rose garden is one more exhibit available.

In the distance we could see the Pacific Ocean. Carlsbad is a beautiful place, and even more so when the flower fields are blooming.

We are home now. Vacations and spring break usually come to an end and this one has. The reason we are able to enjoy lovely vacations will arrive at my doorstep (so to speak) first thing as this new work week begins. Even though I'd rather not grade student essay, I'm thrilled to have my job. So I am now preparing to meet my students in the classroom this week. I hope they too are preparing to meet me. First thing on the agenda is a 100-question quiz. The only other option was an in-class essay, so we opted for that to arrive a week from now when they've had a chance to regain their pace as students.

Good night from Southern California. Thanks for all the meaningful comments about my vacation blips.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.