Instography

By Instography

Two wheels good

After yesterday's bleating about public transport I could hardly just get back on the bus this morning and do it all again. No sense complaining if you're not going to do anything about it so today I unhitched one of the bits public transport that has been getting me to work since January. Yes, I spurned the bus and put my backside on my bicycle. Just to Inverkeithing mind. I made the mistake of jumping on and doing the full 15 miles back in February and to say that my posterior protested would be an understatement. No, it needs to be eased gently back into it if the enthusiasm's to be maintained. There are nerve endings that need to be numbed or killed or whatever happens when it becomes not sore any more. It should only take a few outings to do that.

It's an easy enough mistake to make - you look at the bike and think back to the days when 100 miles would be a nice day's ride. 15 miles will be no problem, forgetting that the last time you did 100 miles was a couple of years and a couple of stones ago and the longest you've done since then is maybe 25 miles over a full day, leisurely cycling up Jura.

Still, it's started and the weather's nice and I can vary my route to see what's to be found along the way. Today, I deviated off the path at the top of 'Cardiac Hill' to snap this little beaut that I'd spotted a couple of weeks ago and filed away for an occassion such as this. I can kind of understand carving a declaration of love into a tree. Why anyone would carve 'arse' I can't think. But it was very much on my mind today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.