Peppermint Tea Leaves

By pepperminttea

Home

The idea of 'home' is an interesting one, and the lines can become blurred. For me I don't think it's as simple as just the place I live; my base, so to speak. As I've mentioned before, I just moved out of my parents' house a couple of months ago, but I still refer to it as home often, as I do the house I now live in - sometimes both in the same sentence. I think on more than one occasion when on holiday I've referred to whatever accommodation I'm staying in as 'home'. For years after my family moved out of the house I grew up in, any time I dreamed about being at home, it would always be our old house, despite not missing it particularly or thinking about it.

I once saw a photo of an illustration stuck to a lamp post of a wee guy and girl, and written on it was "I'm looking for a place to call home, I want that place to be you", which I thought was really sweet, and brings up that idea of home being connected to a person rather than a building - I think that's more where I'm at, that my home is the people around me who I care about and who love me, and although I have plenty of ideas about what I would like my physical home to be like in the future, what I am looking forward to so much more is having someone wonderful to share it with, and for the sense of being at home when I am with him.

I took this photo at my friend Laura's house, which she shares with her lovely husband Andrew. Together they've made their home very warm and welcoming, and I love going to visit. There's a song me and Laura used to perform together when we were on our year out, and there was a line in it that went "I know heaven is my home..." - that was one of my favourite songs, and the words were very true to me and close to my heart - I look forward to the day I am called home, but until then I will enjoy the many good things I have here, and bring some light to the bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.