Runaway

Standing near the bluebird nesting boxes, I glanced up the trail and there, dashing down the hillside, was a miniature dachshund. No leash and no people in sight, she raced straight toward me like a long lost friend, circled around my feet, and sat down on them. As I scratched her behind the ear, I asked, "Where did you come from?" Another walker who followed her down the hillside said he had no idea. She had a collar but didn't seem to have any identification. I was just wondering if I would have to take her home with me when a couple came around the curve in the trail and down the hillside, calling out, "She's ours!" Sure enough she was, but I decided it would be kind to warn them that there is a stiff fine if the rangers catch you with your dog off leash. I don't know if they appreciated the warning or not because they didn't say, but as they continued up the trail, the leash was connected to the dog.

Click here to see a slide show of her race down the hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.