More tea vicar?

A vicarage tea party? Eh? Well when I was growing up there were two scandals that rocked the manse. The most surprising thing about these incidents was not the huge numbers that left the congregation, it was that some people (albeit a very, very small number) chose to still remain members of the church.

Any way (in not a total change of topic) onto mattresses again. I hadn't taken into account in my maths that some mattresses are shared by two people.

So. After some research, I have discovered that about 74,000 people in Edinburgh are part of a couple. * Therefore it's not 500,000 mattresses in Edinburgh. It's 500,000 - 74,000/2 =463,000. So if a tenth of all the mattresses in Edinburgh are chucked every year, that means (approx) 926 per week. Again if we assume that 80% (740)are chucked at the weekends, with the remaining 20% (185) chucked Monday to Friday (37 per day). We can assume that on a Monday there are 740 + 37= 777 mattresses awaiting uplift.

Tomorrow I plan to be discussing Why Choosing to Sit at The Right End of The Table is so Important. (as I discovered yesterday). So I shall see you all here tomorrow.


* damn it. Have not thought that some couples may not share a mattress, for reasons of snoring, infideliety, closet homo/hetero sexuality or they've just gone off each other. Hmmm, where will I get that stat?



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.