a town called E.

By Eej

Alfalfa

I was so devoid of fresh air that the Beloved took me to the island and to feed whatever wanted to be fed.
On the island itself feeding is frowned upon which doesn't stop most people but is enough to not make me want to do it.
We did our round, I was nearly flown into by a female duck escaping a rather amorous stranger, the swallows were diving from above and everything was lovely. It was also cold and wet, so there weren't many people about. That helped :)
Then we drove to the other side of the lake. I headed down the slope with my bag of bread to see if there were any takers and was greeted by four brown/white ducks that were absolutely famished. At least, that's what they told me.
I'd never seen them here before, nor any duck of this colour. So pretty!
They agreed to my usual terms: bread for a shot and didn't mind at all that I sat rather close to them. VERY friendly, as ducks go. This one posed the best and I was quite smitten with his Alfalfa feather.

If anyone knows what kind these are, please let me know! I've looked through my book and searched the net but found nothing. Then again, my knowledge of ducks is ... well, limited.

Two more (work) days in this week, and then two more in next week and we're off. Hurray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.