Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Viaduct

I've missed several blips this week on the bike because of the inconvenience of stopping, then regretted it later. I ummed and aahed about this one this morning because it's just before the steepest part of my ascent to here. Anyway I went for it and banked on Jane's influence to get me going again. The Jane in question is Jane Tomlinson CBE who was diagnosed in 2000 with breast cancer. She set about a series of challenges including a full Ironman (4km Swim, 180Km bike ride and full marathon - completed inside 17 hours), two half Ironmans, the London Marathon three times, the New York Marathon, three London Triathlons and three long distance bike rides - John O Groats to Lands End, Rome to Home and her final huge challenge a 6781.8 km ride across America to raise money for a number of cancer charities. JShe died in 2007 after raising £1,850,000. She was truly an inspiration and whenever I feel I can't do something I think of Jane.

The viaduct was a victim of Mr Beeching in 1965 when the railway was closed. In recent years it has been re-opened as a walk/cycle trail which eventually will be 10 miles long. Its elevation is 685'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.