John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Least Terns' Fish Swap

My 100th blip (apologies for the makeshift numeral)!

We were again out relatively briefly on Cape Cod (still favoring my stiff neck), but we had great luck, on West Dennis Beach. A loose group of at least thirty least terns (Sterna antillarum)stuck around for nearly an hour, and three black-bellied plovers landed quite close on the beach, two in their black-chested breeding plumage, which I had never been able to photograph so close. Ordinarily one of those shots would have been my blip, but this tern shot won out.

Least terns feed on small fish, and frequently seem to offer them to others, but the offer is not often accepted. Here it definitely was--it's almost certainly a pair, engaging in part of their courting behavior. To my recollection, I have only two other photos of this. Other birds around were willets (one bathing, which I've seen rarely if at all), three osprey overhead (see one from earlier here), just one common tern, a yellowlegs (greater?), and a couple of dozen least sandpipers. A very satisfying morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.