Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Old Churches Week - Day 7 - Noordwolde

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Nienke's head injury. She is doing fine: she did not have any headache (we were afraid of that) and she was playing today as if nothing had happened. We still look after her wound and we're glad her swimming lessons have been moved from Fridays to Mondays; that gives the wound on the back of her head some more time to heal.

Today the seventh and final blip in the series of old churches. I must say this has 'assignment' has been quite a challenge because often the church buildings are large and the space with unobstructed view around the church very small. I ended up doing a lot of panorama stitching to overcome distortion. The Jacobuskerk in Zeerijp is an example where I ended up using 15 exposures. I created three panorama shots of five images each: one underexposed, one normally exposed and one overexposed. These three images were then used to create one HDR image. As you can imagine, this has taken me quite some time... Today's image is 'only' a panorama shot consisting of seven stitched images; no HDR this time.

I don't have a lot of information about the Reformed Church in Noordwolde I'm afraid. It was built between 1225 and 1250. The lancet windows with white plastered framing were placed in the 17th Century. The onion-shaped top of the tower was added in 1639. The church bell in the tower was made in 1597. The tower has appeared in my journal before, on 17 February 2010.

The week of old churches started here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.