Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

When I'm Cleaning Windows

Several things went through my mind in a few seconds this morning :-

1. I'm glad I've got my compact camera in my pocket.
2. What an interesting arched feature above the lintel in the red sandstone - I will make that my thumbnail.
3. That guy isn't tied on and might fall off. And no one is holding the ladder.
4. The song by George Formby from 1936 (no, I am not that old, but my Grandad used to sing it).
5. Interesting reflections in the windows he is about to clean.
6. I've got my Blip nice and early.
7. I hope the folk who live in that flat are up and about, as he is peering in rather early.

Two years ago, friends of ours who live in a higher tenement flat in Camphill were in the house when their window cleaner fell off his ladder and tragically died. Since then I have been much more aware of how these guys go about their business.

We had Blip Adviser's brother for a quick dinner tonight, before we both headed off to a choir practice. I could have blipped his rather nice Honda motorbike - I will save that for another day.

Here are the words of the song for those who would like a trip down memory lane.

I go window cleaning to earn an honest bob.
For a nosey parker it's an interesting job
Now it's a job that just suits me, a window cleaner you will be.
If you could see what I can see
When I'm cleaning windows.

The honeymooning couples too, you should see them bill and coo.
You'd be surprised at things they do
When I'm cleaning windows.

In my profession I work hard, but I'll never stop.
I'll climb this blinking ladder ??til I get right to the top.

The blushing bride she looks divine, the bridegroom he is doing fine
I'd rather have his job than mine
When I'm cleaning windows.

The chambermaid sweet names I call, it's a wonder I don't fall.
My minds not on my work at all
When I'm cleaning windows

I know a fellow such a swell, he has a thirst it's plain to tell.
I've seen him drink his bath as well
When I'm cleaning windows

In my profession I work hard, but I'll never stop.
I'll climb this blinking ladder ?til I get right to the top.

Pyjamas lying side by side, ladies nighties I have spied.
I've often seen what goes inside, when I'm cleaning windows.

There's a famous talkie queen, looks a flapper on the screen.
She's more like eighty than eighteen
When I'm cleaning windows.

She pulls her hair all down behind, then pulls down her, never mind
After that pulls down the blind
When I'm cleaning windows.

In my profession I work hard, but I'll never stop.
I'll climb this blinking ladder ?til I get right to the top.

At eight o'clock a girl she wakes, at five past eight a bath she takes.
When I'm cleaning windows.


George Formby

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.