LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Sitting It Out

The forecast said rain. Good I thought, no sun shining through the bedroom window inviting me out to play at an altogether inappropriate hour. A nice long lie in bed to look forward too. Except it didn't happen like that.

The rain hadn't arrived as predicted when I opened an eye, and discovering that his Lordship was up and out even before the dawn chorus, I could only lie so long before finding myself in the street on my bike with my camera round my neck.

That's when nature did its trick thing of allowing me to get 500 yards from the castle door before it let a tiny raindrop fall on my face, and then another and another, and before I could say Jack Robinson, it's quietly raining and I'm getting wet. Not massively wet but enough wet to turn for home with only a few gloomy blips under my belt.

It continued to rain, and since the car is still in the garage getting fixed, his Lordship and I got a bit wetter as we took the bus to the flat pack emporium to look at storage furniture.

It's a giant maze of a place and we always seemed to be going in the opposite direction to the arrows and against the surging sea of humanity.

We managed pretty well temper wise, and the only raised voices occurred at the office section with his Lordship favouring desks that would have looked at home in a board room and not in a tiny study. It would seem that desk size as in other things is important to the standing of the male in his social circle.
We agreed to disagree on suitability and hurried on to the next section.
We even made it home on the same bus, which sometimes doesn't happen, so I think we can call the morning a success.

The furniture itself gives us a lot of choice and although for the price it maybe wouldn't last a lifetime, it only has to last the rest of it for us. I'll go with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.