LL Cool Jim

By LLCoolJim

Budget Message

In the elevator at work - This ad gets the message across for the Scottish Executive (oops, sorry, Government)'s Carbon Trust drive but the graphic design? - I did better in my SCOTVEC Desktop Publishing module. Budgets eh.

Speaking of ad drives, KT Tunstall has had an absolute fortune spent on her in the media very recently. Not a mag or newspaper from the weekend's papers missed out on her promo. Full-pagers here and there too. The term "inoffensive" is a term I find unfair sometimes. Music is not meant to be offensive really is it? But if you've just bought an over-sized coffee-table or had an elevator fitted in yer crib, KT's yer gal this week. In shops now folks. To be honest, she's a drug-habit and an orgy away from being a superstar.

Like I know what I'm talking about -
- well I might just......

I was at a mate's wee sister's 18th at a local joint on Saturday from 8pm-ish. I noted to a couple of mates that these teenagers were not drinking booze at all. (I know - "Scottish Teenagers in not-getting-cained-at-the-weekend Shock".) The dj was one of her boy pals from school (playing lots of stuff I've heard but not much I could name). There was a birthday cake with candles. Dad made a moving speech. I liked the innocence they'd all maintained. The 18ths we rocked were....eh...untidy. I was a little wayward (from the age of 14). I also noted that the styles and forms of fashion expression of these kids were incredible. Really cool. "Really glossy mag/MTV", I said, "accessorize seems to be the name of the game". The girls eye-make-up was OTT but cool. The boys hair-dos must've cost a fortune (and been high-maintenance). I felt old. I wanted to do a black n' white blip of an oriental-looking lassie who was my winner of coolest-looking but thought she might think I was creepy. I thought I could still dress but they must look at me with the light-hearted disdain I had for Tiso-wearing middle managers ten years ago.

Anyway - On Sunday night I was flicking through the Sunday Times Style Mag and top of their "Going Up" chart was this:

TEENAGERS Is it the nonchalance, the dewy skin or the shiny hair? Whatever, they rock accessories better than any of us. Take your fashion cue here

But what do I know?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.