Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Grangemouth Stadium

In the early seventies Grangemouth was awash with money from the industry it played host to. High on the civil agenda was sports facilities and the Grangemouth Stadium was built. At that time it was only the second modern running track in Scotland, the first being built for the Edinburgh Commonwealth Games in 1970 and one of only a handful in the UK. It used to play host to quite a few prestigious meets and many notable athletes from the UK and abroad have competed there.

Now it's been extended by lottery funds to provide facilities for elite athletes and SportScotland provide introduction course for young kids keen to start athletics. My oldest son goes there and has so far been introduced to javelin and pole vault (oh dear....), high jump, hurdles and track. I did see him bring in his group on a 400m, he was only 70m in front of most of the group. Do I have a Michael Johnson on my hands?

I trained there as a kid, I was never that fast......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.