A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Bum note

Jimble started having guitar lessons last week. You might recall that he did start them a while ago, when he was just coming up to 6 years old, but he was too much of a wee'un and he struggled to reach round and put his fingers on the frets! He expressed an interest in starting again a few weeks ago, and he had his first lesson last week. We have located a guitar teacher who will come to our house and do half an hour each week with James. James is happy with him and so far I am impressed. James has been practising during the week, and Ed was pleased with his progress.

I had parked myself at the kitchen table marking more coursework whilst he was having his lesson in the living room. When he came through after his lesson I said "I'm guessing that was Ed playing the first few bars of Smoke on the Water". James looked indignant and said "No, it was BOTH of us". Nice!

For a significant part of the evening, I have been listening to James playing the first twelve notes of the song, over and over, and it has been nice hearing it improve, in tonal quality and speed. Enough that he wanted to show me AND allowed me to take photos of him. Self esteem is a wonderful thing. Also, Sod's law is inevitable - so after hearing him through the kitchen wall playing it beautifully, with me as an audience, he took a few funny faces and bum notes to get it 'perfect' by his standards. Sounded pretty good to me.

So, we'll see - i think he might stick at it. I hope so - he looked so engrossed whilst I was watching him - it was lovely to see.

Knackered so off to bed now.
Night all. Will try to catch up on commenting over the weekend, but I fear I will still be drowning in a sea of spreadsheets and preparation for staff training next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.