Picture Consequences

By consequences

Reading matter

Adam scanned the leaflet, grateful not to have to look at Stevie.

Do you wonder if there's more to life? asked the headline. Adam couldn't help thinking this was just the kind of born-again Christian line he and Stevie would have laughed about in the past.

Reading through it, some phrases caught his eye; traditional values ... the Church of the New Word has the answer ... a future where neighbours look out for one another...

As he read, Stevie kept talking to him. "I mean, it all just seems to make so much sense to me. This is what this town has needed, Adam - don't you think? I mean, you know religion has never meant much to me, but this is different, it's just so true. Do you know what I mean?"

Unable to reply, Adam pretended he was still fascinated by the leaflet. The old parish church on the High Street ... with your help, we can make this a truly great church ... a donation ...

Adam reached a conclusion. He needed to get out of here.

He looked up, to see Stevie waiting expectantly for an answer. "Yeah, you're right. This all sounds great. But listen mate, I have to shoot off now - do you mind if I take this with me, so I can have a proper read of it?"

Stevie started to say "oh, but you haven't drunk your..." and then seemed to lose the thread of what he was saying. He seemed pleased though, that Adam wanted to keep the leaflet.

"Yeah, of course," he said. "Do you mind seeing yourself out? I need to tidy these things away."



Part Two begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.