horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Get a Haircut!

These were smiles in the afternoon before the usual disappointment of following a lacklustre bunch of overpaid prima-donnas in the World Cup. Not that they get paid for playing for their country, but the amounts they make the rest of the time more than make up for that... Useless pillocks.

Pity really. What could have been an awful day had shaped up nicely. Late notice the night before I'd been drafted into two meetings confirming the redundancy of the two people I used to share the top floor with - one of whom being a friend I go down to Newcastle with for the football (they put the two Geordies in the office together, go figure...). But those meetings were more relaxed than I'd anticipated, and so the lunch out with both of them, and a couple other people from the office, was a deal more jovial than it could have been.

Making excuses to go back to the office I... Crumbled when dragged to a different pub. Four and a half pints later I had time to get back to the office to check on emails, sign off, get changed and cycle (erm, yes... cycle) home. Remarkably (though not legally) sober the dinner run to M&S had Mel in the driving seat - back in time to cook and get the football on the telly.

I wish I hadn't bothered....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.