horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Mountain out of an Anthill

Gardening day after starting out as a Farmers Market day. Giving the front garden some attention I took apart a cracked drain to have a look at the state of it underneath and see how I could sort it, and stumbled on an right wee any city, with hundreds of little larvae or eggs or whatever it is that ants hoard dotted about.

By the time I'd fetched the camera and bunged a couple of macro rings on they'd shifted 2/3rds of them out. Industrious things.

The day also included a chat with the shopping delivery guy on England in the World Cup (his opening gambit after ascertaining I was watching the tournament was a sarcastic, "Ah, you've got to feel sorry for the English don't you..." with me replying that since I was English, well yes...) - actually feeling 'sorry' for the team I wouldn't go so far as to say. Rooney has come over all petulant and stroppy (play better Wayne, it's as simple as that to stop the booing...) and Gerrard all arrogant (that was Algeria's 'world cup final' was it Stevie? The glamour for them of playing against a bunch of semi-literate prison-dodgers with cackling harpy WAGs is the best they can aim for eh?), and the rest of them just don't really seem to care.

Usual England World Cup post Italia '90 really.

I also made the mistake last night of watching with the sound on and had to resist the temptation numerous times to write a stiff letter of complaint about the commentary. I did at least save myself the torture of the half-time analysis, or the 'comedian' James Corden's (who seems capable of milking the 'I'm fat' joke into an entire career) after match show.

Oh, other big news. The last issue of citycycling went online today. The last monthly edition anyway. But already it's feeling like a huge weight off. Plans for changing the site are going to take a couple of months, and in the meantime I can get on with things I've been wanting to do (written and photographical) for ages. Years even.

Time to get busy. Like a wee industrious ant.

(see what I did there?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.