Hi Mum

His mother would probably prefer this shot to the one of him loosing his footing and falling I took earlier. He's roped up and merely swung into the side of the Stalinist concrete.

I was intrigued to discover the textured effect is river pebbles stuck into the concrete. Occasionally a stone came loose which was where the climbing helmet I was wearing came in handy.

I've had a horrible day and the least said about it the better. Discovering the climbing club had a climb on the side of my building was definitely the high light. I think they were a little surprised to have a middle aged woman join them on the roof of the 6th floor! (He's 11 storeys up).

It's been some time since I had a climbing helmet on and I must admit I enjoyed it. (I don't think Mum and Dad wanted to read that ;-). I didn't notice I was 6 floors up on the roof. I'm not fearless, I have a healthy respect of heights (and mountains in particular), but an odd calm descends on me as I gain altitude. A friend once commented I don't look as comfortable or good running at near sea level as I do 1500 + metres up a mountain. Now I have new health perhaps it's time I pursued heights again.

The students were all for me to have a climb and abseil. I was tempted but didn't have clothes or shoes for it. I suspect they're still talking about the woman who happily clambered out the window with her camera and onto the roof ;-)

The other positive from my day is I awoke feeling good. Yesterday's rest did the trick and I've beaten whatever it was that tried to assail me.

Happy birthday Will. A song for the nephew birthday boy. He's featured here on blip before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.