Basse Copette, Normandy

By bassecopette

Leffe Rouge or Dutch Courage?

I am finally fed up with a dial-up internet connection! It is official.

When I first arrived at Basse Copette I was told by those supposedly in the know at France Telecom that a broadband connection would be possible in about five years time. That was January 2005. Come January 2010 I duly attempt to re-acquaint myself with those in the know, but this time it is Orange. I asked when I would be able to get broadband, or ADSL as they call it here. In five years I was told. I laughed and mentioned that I was told that five years ago, and that I was wondering if I would be told that again in January 2015. Yes, I was told, unashamedly.

Since then I have been investigating all sorts of options, not just for myself but also for the guests who come to stay here. Now, the most commonly asked question when people make an enquiry is 'is there an internet connection, or WiFi?' I suppose it is safe to assume I am probably loosing bookings as a result. It may not be that much of an issue now, but it may become one soon enough.

Anyway today I decided to go to Amiens to get a 3G+ Clé. Well, I cam away with a new laptop, that does not have a Qwerty keyboard! So that is going to take a bit of getting used to. And the Windows package is in French too, and my French is not bad, but its not up to IT standards. We shall see how it goes ... I am still using my trusted dial-up connection ;-)

But going to Amiens gave me an excuse to have a meal out. The bars in Aumal do not serve my favourite beer, so any excuse for an ice cold Leffe Rouge!

Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.