Tuscany

By Amalarian

A VIEW OF THE BRIDGE

It is with some reluctance that I use this pic. I took about a dozen shots of my office this morning in desperation as the drizzle drizzled. Then I noticed a patch of sun on the floor and lo, the skies cleared. Off to the river which I expected to be deserted because it's the last of the summer holidays in Italy. No, crowds. The road along the river was blocked by people in day-glow vests and a small sign proclaimed a river festival. People were gathering far down the road.

I carry my camera in my right hand, down at my side. I figure it is pretty invisible there but as I walked in a TV cameraman walked out. He nodded solemnly, I nodded back. The fraternity of photographers. My camera must be more visible than I thought.

Crowds are sort of difficult to photograph so I turned back, did a few glistening water shots, then went to the other side of the bridge where there was perfect peace. This is the rather unglamorous other side of the bridge over the Serchio River. There is debris piled up against it and the water is running muddy after the recent rains and not the clear aquamarine as usual.

There is a photograph of this bridge in town showing how it looked after the retreating German army blew it up near the end of World War II. It was restored and its two lanes are packed during the rush hours.

This is the one I wanted to use because I love the movement of water: Water under the bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.