Our cottage is surrounded by fields. Fields and one road. The road is very quiet, but cars drive very fast along it and it is the one thing I can't protect my cats from. This morning Lola went out as usual having fed the kittens and was hit by a car. We buried her at the bottom of the garden and I will find something to plant above her that flowers in the summer. Both Blue and Roo laid down by her grave - I would like to read something into it - but perhaps I am just putting a fanciful human slant on it. We are all very sad, Murron in particular who had a very special bond with her. We have lost four cats on that road, so perhaps the time has come to acknowledge that even doing the very best we can, it can never be enough. That road will always be there.

So now we have three little kittens to hand rear. Three parting gifts from Lola that we will do our very best to look after. I have a small hand rearing kit from the vet and some formula and so far, so good. I feel woefully inadequate and so heavy hearted. Daft I know, but I love my cats and we will miss Lola very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.