Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Swimming Hole

Upper 90's today with hot winds. Walking outside gave the kids and I instant red rosy cheeks. Running errands in this kind of heat was a bit unbearable. Another heat wave. And when we have a heat wave, everyone is looking for a place to cool off.

I saw this spot from the freeway as I was driving home early this evening. I pulled off and thought that I could get a few shots that would describe this day perfectly. This is a very popular swimming hole. But a dangerous one. A very dangerous one due to the quantity of people who gather here on hot days. Teenagers are always jumping from the cliffs into the frigid water. It's a fun place but you have to be very careful here because the under currents are very strong. Just today alone, an ambulance was parked near the shore and a tent was set up with rescue life guards.

I thought that this made for an interesting blip because of the bright red danger sign and the warning about the water.......and then the dozen or so people swimming and lounging right below it. I am a water person to the highest degree and would definitely dip in this swimming hole as well. But with extreme caution, because every summer this place ends up on the news.

A hot summer day. And we're expecting another one tomorrow......

Back Blipping starts here. And this photo (21st) is one of my fave's!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.