Skip's Blips

By Skip

Back to the butterfly garden

I invited Bob, and Bob invited Gulliver, and the three of us went for a walk in the Holden Arboretum on this very hot Sunday afternoon...so hot that Bob stopped at the vending machine in the visitors' center to buy a bottle of cold water ...for Gulliver. Next time we will take water and a little bowl with us.

My goal was to capture a better picture of the elusive hummingbird moth. I found several of them in the butterfly garden and snapped lots of blips, but none of them made me happy. So the search continues. Next time I am going to set the camera on shutter mode, select a fast shutter speed such as 1/500 and see if that works. I have learned that aperture mode is not the solution, even if the butterfly expert recommended it. The hummingbird moth just beats its wings too fast and literally zips from flower to flower.

The butterfly in today's blip is one of the very small ones, as you can tell from comparing it to the size of the flower. As soon as I can remember where I misplaced my butterfly books, I will try to identify it, but if anyone in blipland knows what it is, please let me know.

EDIT: Forgot to say that I finished reading Eat, Pray, Love this evening, so now I can get started on The Girl Who Played With Fire. I expect it will be one of those kind of books I can't put down once I get started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.