La vida de Annie

By Annie

Senior screen

On what was probably the hottest and sunniest day of our "Summer", did Enya and I sit in the garden sipping Pimms, or blipping pretty flowers and butterflies, or taking a ride on the ferry or the big wheel to admire the glorious waterfront?

Nope, we decided instead to sit in a dark cinema at Woolton's weekly Senior Screen presentation of what today turned out to be Sorcerer's Apprentice, an all-action expensive special-effects monstrosity of a film which left us muttering like crabby old ladies at the wearisome "plot" most of the way through. I was quite miffed that no-one asked to see proof that I was a pensioner (I'm not!), but can't grumble I guess at paying £4 to see a current film and have tea and biscuits and an intermission for a loo-break thrown in. It took a while to acclimatise to the intense sunlight on leaving, but we soon fixed that by spending the afternoon in an artificially-lit shopping centre.

I do think we're losing the plot.... Pimms in the garden next time please!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.