Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Falling Leaf

A falling leaf captured on a late September afternoon.........

Nope. No it wasn't falling. And this is where I literally took my blip dorkness to a whole other level. I must now refer to myself as a blipdork extrodinare. It don't even know if that makes sense or if it is even spelled correctly, but it is exactly what comes to mind.

Today's blip. It all started on our family bike ride around the neighborhood. I spotted some leaves on the ground with beautiful rain drops on them but I didn't have my camera. So I took a few home and that is when I devised my plan. My thought was, "hey, I'm gonna try to make this leaf look like it is falling out of the sky".

So as my family was settled in the family room, I went out to the backyard with my leaf and looked for a low hanging branch. Now here is where it gets ultra blip dorky and I can't even believe I am going to write this. I took two strands of my hair and tied it to both ends of the leaf and then tied the other ends to the branch. And viola, my leaf instantly had the look of being suspended in mid air.

I grabbed my camera and used my nifty fifty. Took a few shots and then my family came outside. My husband walked over and this is basically what happened next:

"Look at my leaf, it's magic".

"Woah, is it caught in a spider web or something?"

"Nope"

"Well how is it hanging in mid air".

"By two pieces of my hair".

"No it is not".

"Yes it is".

"You seriously did not take the time to hang this leaf from the tree with your hair".

"Oh yes I did"

"Wow"

"Cool huh"

And then I burst out in the loudest fit of laughter that I have experienced in a long time. The look on his face was indescribable. Priceless. Worth every single second of the tedious amount of time that it took me to hang the leaf from the tree.

And all in the name of photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.