Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Cage Inhabitant

When the Wonderspouse left for work this morning it was time for me to leave too. I had to get home, partly to look after the cats, and partly because I had a CPN appointment this afternoon.

Since I'd got up and out of the hotel quite early I figured I had time to make a detour on the way home via a retail park in Swindon. They have a Hobbycraft, which is full of temptations to me, a giant pound shop, and a very large Pets at Home.

After buying a little more bedlinen at the pound shop (oops), I went into Pets at Home, where I bought a full set of new bowls for all our cats (including Dexter, who hasn't actually moved in yet). I got 2 pink ones for the boys and 3 blue ones for the girls!

I also checked out all the other stuff in the store - it's a great place to browse if you're like me. I found this little fellow modelling one of the cages!

And, I spent quite a lot of time with my friends the rats. I adore rats, and am still cross with myself for not bringing Norma and Sue home from Open University Summer School. I trained them both to press levers for food, and they were fantastic. I named them after my tutorial partners! Sadly I was too unsure that I could find anyone to look after them while I was away, so I didn't bring them. If we didn't have (nearly) 5 cats, I'd have rats like a shot. I still wonder whether I could have them in my study, and have it as a cat free zone. Bless them.

I contented myself with taking a leaflet all about how to look after rats, and spending a considerable time watching them playing in their cage in the shop!

Then I came home, fed the cats, cleaned the litterbox, and fell asleep on the sofa. My CPN came in the afternoon, accompanied by a student CPN, who turned out to be a rather dishy Frenchman - sometimes groovy things happen!

Then I've been busy continuing with the grand house sort, doing lots of washing, sorting out my booty from Bristol, and, finally, finishing the wine!

Now I'm home alone for the next couple of nights. I need to remember to feed cats, lock the door at night, eat food (and not just drink wine), do practice, and keep myself well all by myself!

Now where's that bottle?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.