Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Day at the Aquarium

My husband was scheduled to work the entire day today, so the boys and I decided to take an adventure out of town. The Oregon Coast Aquarium is about 2 hours North of us, so we tried to get on the road early.

On the way, we stopped at the Darlingtonia Wayside in Florence, Oregon for a little side excursion. The plants there are carnivores, so it's a cool place to check out. The bathroom there was entirely more than I could handle however. I've never smelled anything like that before (ammonia) and had an instant headache. Eew. It's one of the most memorable things apparently to my 5 year old.

Once we got to the aquarium, the boys were ready. My oldest took my little Canon Powershot and probably took 200 photos of his own. He had the best time and was so incredibly excited to be a photographer with me.

We saw birds that swim under water, an anaconda, an alligator, a GIANT (and creepy) turtle, piranhas, seals, otters, an octopus, surf creatures, sharks, rays, eels, sea horses and jellyfish.

The jellyfish are always my favorite exhibit. They used to only have one, but now there are three or four. They are also a favorite of my oldest, and so the both of us took photo after photo. It was hard to choose just one, but I think this is my favorite.

We ate a bit of lunch and then packed in for the long drive home. I'm a master at timing, so both boys snoozed the majority of the drive back and were chipper as can be once we arrived home.

I wish every day was as awesome as this one.

Edit: Really awesome in large. I always check before I say so. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.