Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Singer / Songwriter / Actress

You are a very musical person.

(Smiles) Yeah.

How did you get into music?

My Mom and Dad were always very musical. They started me in a Kinder Music class and ever since then, I have been in love with it. The rhythms and flow work for me. I like making songs my own.

Tell me about your musical opportunities.

In 8th grade I got to go to Florida for a singing competition. Only one student from the state was chosen so it was a big deal for me. I went with my choir director and her husband. Her husband is now my current choir director.

And last year I placed 3rd in State in Soprano. It was a huge competitive division. The highest placement ever from my high school.

We've seen you sing and act and you are fantastic. When did you start acting?

In 8th grade I saw 'Wicked' on Broadway in New York. And my sophomore year, I got the lead as Maria in 'The Sound of Music'. It was my first legit acting experience.

How does it feel to be on stage?

It is indescribable to explain how I feel when I am on stage. I leave this world when I am on stage. There is no audience. I can be someone else. When the curtain calls, chills run through my body. I have a love for performance. I need to perform.

I could hear you singing from the street when I walked up to your door.

(Laughs) Yeah, it is an escape for me. Something I love to do and something I hope that I will always be able to do. It is relaxing. I wouldn't be able to be myself without it.

Can I ask a more personal question?

Sure.

With your Mom passing away, does music and acting help you heal?

Yes. Absolutely. Since my parents got me started, it is my way to connect with her. I got my first part in a play right after my Mom passed away and it gave me the confidence I needed to start living and do all that I could do.

And you know how proud she is of you.

Absolutely. (Teary eyed) I always tell myself that she is watching all of my shows from the catwalk.

So you always feel like she is with you.

Yeah. Absolutely.

When did you start incorporating piano into your music?

I've been playing since the 3rd grade. My sister started first and my Mom asked me if I would like to play. It's funny, I don't know to explain piano. It helps me unwind. I've had the same teacher since the 3rd grade. I love that woman!

Your Dad is out rehearsing in your garage right now.

(Laughs) Yeah, it is our connection. We are the performers in the family. He has this fantasy of starting his own band. It would be called, "The Herd". He'd be the lead singer/guitarist, I would sing and play the piano and my sister would play the flute.

What are your future aspirations?

(Huge smile) Broadway. Elphaba or Glenda. Both lead characters from 'Wicked'. My dream roles. My dream show. I love how it is based on these two women's friendships. Life can be hard. There is always a decision to make. It just has to be your own. Every person I come across in life helps to change me for the better in some sort of a way.

Any final thoughts?

I just always want to be able to be on a stage belting my guts out.

That's your true happiness?

Yeah. Absolutely.

So I'll see you on Broadway then.

That's a dream. (Laughs) So yes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.