Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

The Phone Call: Surprise!

(Ring, ring, ring)

Pop: Hello?

Me: Hi Pop!

Pop: Well hi hon, how are you?

Me: I'm good Pop. I have some news for you and Nana.

Pop: Oh yeah?

Me: Can you get her on the other line for a minute?

Pop: Yeah sure, hold on.

(click, click, click)

Nana: Well hi honey!

Me: Hi Nana, I have some big news for you and Pop. Pop, are you on the line?

Pop: Yep, I'm here.

Me: Okay. Remember that photograph that I took of the two of you in July?

Pop: Yeah.

Nana: Oh gosh, barely.

Me: Well I entered it in an International Photo Contest through my journaling website and out of 3000 entries, it made the top ten.

Pop: Well.....I'll......be......darn!

Nana: Oh......for.....heaven's.......sakes!

Me: And, over 1000 people from around the world have viewed it.

Pop: Well.....I'll......be.....darn!

Nana: Wow, you deserve a big medal!

Me: Actually you do! People have really been touched by the photo and your interview and I wanted to thank you both for letting me share your story.

Pop: Aaaaah......I think I'm going to cry.

Me: It's because of your love and devotion that this photo made it this far. Your strong connection just radiates in it.

Pop: Win or lose, you are already a winner here.

Nana: Well this is a nice feather in your cap. What an honor for you as a photographer.

Me: And what a huge honor it is for the two of you.

Pop: All.....be......darn. Usually when someone sees my photo, they want to throw darts at it.

Me: ha ha ha, not this time Pop!

Nana: Wow, what a delightful surprise. You just made our day.

Pop. Thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you...........


-----------------

If you have a chance, please check out my blip from yesterday.. A very inspirational interview from a very talented young woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.