a town called E.

By Eej

Context

I don't eat meat because I can't justify an animal dying just for my enjoyment.
I will help baby-toads and caterpillars cross bicycle paths. I will help roly-polys/crickets/beetles that have fallen on their backs back up. I close my eyes whenever we pass anything by the side of/on the road that has been killed. I cry when people tell me hunting stories. I've 'saved' blackbirds, jackdoes and a baby-pigeon. I tried to save a (dying) mouse by feeding it oatmeal when I was 10. We took in stray cat Harley. I made the Beloved take home stray dog Guinness. If I have to kill an insect, even if it's an ant, I say: "I'm sorry!" I Blip every bit of fauna I can find, and save them or feed them in return.

I am typing all this down to give what happened this morning some context:

We hit a squirrel on the way to the optometrist.
It just came out of nowhere and did a desperate jump and it hit the headlight on my side. Thud.
I cried and cried and cried until I had no more tears and even then I could not stop.

What an utterly crap start of the day. Poor little thing :(


We planned to go to South Haven for the sunset and we were fortunate that the rain stopped long enough for that. It was cold and windy at the Lake and it was wonderful. Even when a wave soaked my shoes and jeans up to my knees when I was paying more attention to shutter speed and aperture than to my surroundings.




Nobody got the exact answer to yesterdays UFO, but some came close: it's our bathroom light fixture/fan, seen through a telelens that my camera doesn't really recognise, so when I zoom out, the lens forms a ... uhm ... tubular vignette ?
If that makes sense at all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.