Formality

I checked my pigeonhole at break and found this message. Because of the formality of it, it took me a minute to figure out that it was a message from Corin. It's the first time he has rung me at work, and the lady in the office who answered the phone hadn't connected who it was, as I still go by my maiden name at work. So I chuckled to myself because I knew exactly how Corin would have spoken on the phone - very formal and businesslike. It's the first time he has ever rung me at work.

When I spoke to Jane, who took the message, I said to her "I believe that you spoke to my husband earlier". She looked puzzled. "Mr Dunwood" I said. "Oh, now that makes sense." Apparently, she had asked Coz if he needed to leave a number and he had said "No, she knows it". Jane's response had been to say "Are you sure, I can just note it down" and Corin had assured her it was fine. This tickled me even more.

Simple things.

I was going to blip the contents of my handbag tonight to demonstrate to one of my friends that my existence is not always quite so "clean" as she thinks. Equally, I could have done any area of our house and demonstrated the same! Equally, she think's I am a wuss too. Although, on that note, she is probably right. I am desperately squeamish, hence why I left the room yesterday when Fisherking was dissecting the kidney in the blip. I hold my hands up to that one.

Long day.

Still awaiting news on the data recovery. Company doesn't charge unless the data is recovered. If it is, it's one hell of a sum, but I can't put a value on the work that I will have lost if it can't be recovered - it will be a busy weekend if I don't have it back by Friday lunchtime!

People never fail to surprise, delight and disappoint all in the same day. I also wish that I could put myself in a little bubble sometimes, which would filter out the chat and randomness that I don't need or want to listen to, and just let me hear the stuff that I need to know.

That would be luvverly.
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.