Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

On Playa del Rey beach

He always was one for the ladies.

I'm not sure why I rarely come to this beach, being just 5 minutes from home. Perhaps because we're always closer to Santa Monica or Venice beaches for school or therapy, but seeing it again reminded me just how lovely and tranquil it really is. And the sun's out again from the haze of marine layer that's been hanging over LA. Ooh, it feels good. We look north to the Santa Monica Mts and the endless beaches, yet what we cannot see is the world's largest man made marina, Marina del Rey which abruptly ends the walk northwards.

I look up at the sound of a plane, or rather Callum excitedly says "airplane" with his razor sharp ears. And I'm glad I did. It was a BA plane bound for London. Homeward bound.

And I thought how refreshing it is to use the Big Fella lens again after the 85mm and 50mm. That's perhaps the love affairs we have them with; we might toss them aside for the latest flirtation, but we always rejoice when they're back in our loving arms.

PS I know there are rules, but I do like to break them, occasionally, here with the composition. You know what I'm talking about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.