Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The weigh in

I'm not entirely convinced that after 100 years it's accurate, but still, I wanted to capture the full moon.

For the creative inspiration on the scales, I entirely credit Whitney with grateful thanks, albeit differently executed.

Now the boys are sleeping. I'm worried about Callum's eyes as he's squinting, perhaps as a new behavioural fad, but I fear not. Poor eyesight runs in my family like wooden legs, but I had hoped for another 18 years of 20:20. Reuben's visual impairment is attributed to his syndrome which is entirely separate and the funky glasses he wears are transition and, given the generally amiable climate here, it's just as if he's wearing sunglasses every day. So I took Callum along to my eye appointment today having been wearing glasses for a week on Dr's orders after my sorely inflammed eyes from general neglect of myself, though a pediatric optometrist will be the next step. My eyes are much better but I'm delighted to have my contacts back again. We've been buddies for over 20 years and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Tonight Callum is settling for sleep. I've found IgglePiggle's red blankie and put it back in his Iggle's hand although Callum prefers IgglePiggle to get his comfort and reassurance from him and pulls the blanket off. I'm almost asleep beside the wriggling toddler til I hear "more kiss mama".

* * *

Thanks to you all for yesterday's comments. Meant a huge deal and does it not give us a lovely skip in our step for the day. Very delightful to read and helped me see the image in a different and beautiful light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.