Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Dandelion love

Dandelion love large

You run into the kitchen and the sight makes my skip a beat, two long and perfectly formed dandelions lovingly held in your hands. They are the first you've ever picked. The garden has not been mowed in over a month and the sun has been blazing, the morning dew misting the little fellas, the garden now awash with dandies and with each blow or gentle breeze, their little seeds disperse to bring on future generations.

You hand one to Reuben and start to blow upon the other and I have but a split second to pick up my camera which is right there with the wrong lens and run into the garden with you. And the result is this little bit of magic which oozes the warmth and love I feel for you. In the moment after, I catch one of the wisps on your chin.

Did you pick the dandelions side by side Callum, or did you find one and then go to find another for Reuben? I will never know.

My heart roars with joy at the beauty of the act of sharing with your big brother, Reuben, whose face smiled its little pleasing smile of recognition. Reuben, altruism inherent in his disposition. I'm reminded how Reuben would always pick up two toys or teething rings, one for himself, one for Callum and always give Callum his first.

I can hardly think of a lovelier trait from a child than that of selflessness.

And I have a full, warm feeling in my tummy, no, not confined to my tummy, all through me. And it's called love.

I am the worst person for printing my photos, but I can envisage this in my home as a reminder of that unconditional love. It's now a part of my Enchantment Collection that I started with the boys in the Spring.

My last dandelion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.