Pictures by Ahti's dad

By hevosmies

Westvleteren 12

After Sweatmaster gig on Fri-Sat night I and brainfreeze went to two pubs. In another one they had trappist beer Westvleteren abt 12. It's been rated no. 1 beer in the world by Rate Beer. It is sold only at the Trappist monastery of Saint Sixtus de Westvleteren, only to individuals who promise not to re-sell it. However, now and then you can see it being sold in pubs with good beer selection.

It cost 30 eur/bottle, a VERY high price for just one bottle of beer. It was delicious, but not even the best beer I've had so far nor worth its preposterous price. But at least I saved the travelling costs to Belgium:) They say this beer requires to be matured a few years until it's at its best. I'd really like to try this when it's matured a few years. So maybe I'll have to visit Belgium some day after all...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.