Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

These Hands

These hands are very special hands.

Strong, capable, loving hands.

Patient, hard working, and gentle hands.

Looks like I've created a bit of a "hand series" over the past couple of weeks. Not necessarily intentionally, more of a subconscious thing I guess. But hands have always fascinated me. Each are different, unique and capable of so many diverse talents. I am happy to have captured these images of the people I love because they will be such a treasure to look back on later down the road. I think that one's hands can tell a lot about their personality.

I have my Grandma's hands. Early on in life, before I realized this, I tried to hide my hands because of a couple of teasing remarks on the school bus about them. Kids would say, "oh look, you have old lady hands" because they have always been extra lined and dry looking. But you know what, as I got older and noticed that my hands looked just like my Grandma's hands, I came to appreciate them. I know that her hands looked like mine even when she was a small girl. We share that genetic similarity. Same shape and same texture. My sister has her walk and I have her hands. And that is probably why I have always appreciated and noticed the differences found in hands.

Today I have captured my husband's hands. An image that means a lot to me. A picture that speaks a thousand words. Taking the time to photograph him doing a task that just comes easily to him. Woodworking. Building furniture. Remodels. It is a skill that he feels very passionately about. So I photographed his talented hands changing the saw blade on his table saw.

I'm glad that I captured these hands today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.