Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Loss

I woke up this morning like it was any Saturday with ideas of laundry, dishes, sweeping and such. At around 10:30 a.m., my dad called to tell me that my Granddad was in the hospital and very ill. He said that he had booked a flight for the next morning. When my husband checked online, there was free space on the plane that left our town at 1:30 p.m. He told me to try for it.

I quickly showered, packed bags and gathered my boys. We headed for the airport hoping we hadn't forgotten anything in the hurry. We managed the flight and then landed in the San Francisco airport. We had to eat, so we found some soup and moved down to our gate where this lovely kid play area is stationed. This shot is of my smallest playing in the tornado maker. Quite an attraction to little ones.

Moments after I put my camera away, I called my cousin to check in and let her know that we were on our way. There was a long pause, and then she said that our Granddad had gone....he had just passed away.

There I sat alone with my boys tears streaming down my face. I didn't make it. I didn't get to hug him, or tell him how much I love him and how much he's meant to me all my life.

And that's all I can manage at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.