My Favorite Day of the Year

Bob's 5th birthday party at the beach.

It is my favorite day of the year because all of our favorite people attend. Unfortunately, my parents were not able to make it this year. But Rhi & Barry drove up from Pennsylvania, my college roommate & childhood best friends came with their children, all of Bob's favorite friends came, and 2 of Bob's cousins and his paternal grandparents were there. I did not do any games this year. Playing in the sand, playing with crabs, climbing trees, and bouncing balls against a wall seemed to keep the kids quite happy. In fact, I cut the cake a half hour later than anticipated because the kids wanted more play time. Our final guests departed at 2:30 - 2 hours after the party officially ended :-)

But in a poor parenting moment, I totally forgot to put sunblock on Bob and myself. We all sported a bit of a sunburn on exposed parts by the end of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.