a town called E.

By Eej

R.E.D.S.K.I.N.S!

While political correctness has indeed made it to Paw Paw and the school spirit wear no longer SAYS Redskins, they are still very much there in the cheers of the cheerteam.
Today was Homecoming.

The concept of that is alien to me, apart from what I've seen in movies and on t.v. shows, and events like this generally fill me with a sense of wonder and a touch of horror.
I also REALLY don't get (American) Football.
Today events didn't change much there, but it was all very entertaining.

It started with a parade, with the mascot (a wildcat) of the opponent of tonight's game in grueling situations, predicting victory for the homecoming team.
Then on to the game at the high school.
Masses of rowdy people, the National Anthem (with everyone facing the flag) and a plethora of unhealthy food. And the marching band, who I've up until now only saw in their shorts and polos, wore their full uniform. Worth the 10 bucks it cost us to get in :)
The Homecoming King and Queen were crowned, the Redskins creamed the Wildcats 29 to 7, and I had some amazingly good hot chocolate.

I found it REALLY difficult to get photos that reflect the game in all its chaos, and still show movement and excitement. I'll have to practise with that :/
Still, I chose this one over the far prettier Rejects, just because.


Rejected Cranes


Rejected Autumn Landscape

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.