The Dam Bench

Gartmorn Dam, Clackmannanshire.

I've said it before, and I'll say it again; I like benches me. This one is part way round the dam and it's a fairly regular walk of ours. I'd hoped the place would be a blaze of yellow, red and oranges today but the sun hid away and muted everything that little bit. Next weekend though, next weekend...

I didn't really set out to walk all the way round today and I've now got two trophy blisters commemorating the 3 mile hike. It's not the distance or the terrain that did for me, but for some inexplicable reason I'd stuck my hiking boots on over a pair of those silly wee trainer socks. After about a mile I could feel the blisters starting and by the time I reached here, around two thirds of the way round, I was hobbling like an old man. I actually stopped here to let this little lady with her stick past as she was catching me up anyhow.

Samantha wants to go collecting brambles along the old railway line tomorrow; think I'll have to wait and see what these two blisters turn into before I get in amongst the jaggies.

Time for some alcohol I think - taken internally of course.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.