a town called E.

By Eej

Saturdays at Sarett's



We drove to Sarett's Nature Center this morning. It promised to be yet another glorious day and while chores beckoned, I quietly left them to fend for themselves. Take THAT, bathroom.

We spend a lovely few hours walking around, through forest and over meadows.

On the way back to the car we needed to make a pitstop at the Visitor Center. Across from the bathroom we found an (open) office and a big white cockatoo, being a (self-professed) pretty bird. I'm not scared of birds but if one with big talons and a sharp beak says it's a pretty bird, I'm not arguing.
Sadly, Gabby is NOT a pretty bird. Not if you go by looks alone.

Three years ago, Gabby's owner developed lungcancer and because cockatoos are such dusty birds, she had to find another home. Unfortunately, the woman had to go into the hospital before she had found a place for Gabby. Gabby was taken care of, but not to the extent she was used to, or needs.
She began to auto-mutilate.
When she came to Sarett's she was given less than a year ... and here she is :)

According to one of the staff members she's looking better than ever. I almost cried.

Then we were allowed to watch the Wildlife Rehabilitator (whose name I forgot to ask, stupid, as she was so nice!) feed her last (-out-of-twenty) baby squirrel of the year.

Meet Sir Higgins, who was found all naked and tiny on someones drive-way and who, despite fervent attempts, could not be reunited with his mommy.

I also saw a sugar glider for the first time in my life.
Do I sound like a four year old? Cos I really was THAT excited :)

I've been deliberating for hours which photo to use. Sir Higgins wins the cuteness award hands down, but Gabby's story affected me the most. So, the Beloved said: "Do both."
And I did.

Both photos in (semi-)original format are here and here .


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.