Suzy's Scenes

By suzyscenes

Red-naped sapsucker

I'm not sure if this is the right name for this bird, but I thought it was a red-headed woodpecker and found out, from research, that it was not. The red-headed woodpecker's complete head is red, and this bird just had a red tuft on it's head.

I drove up Daniel's Creek tonight, because it was so cloudy in town and then the clouds came out there too. It was like they were following me as fast as I was driving to escape them.

I found this little guy first on the pavement at a fishing dock. He was so cute, just kind of looking at me, but as soon as got out my camera, he flew off. I followed him around for about an hour trying to get a good shot. It's times like this that I wish I had a better camera, or at least a better telephoto lens so I could get closer on these shots. I know I need to be using a tripod too, but how can you get all of that set up for taking a shot of a bird that flies away constantly? FRUSTRATION!

Someday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.