Getting ready

End of the last lesson of the day....

Student, interrupting me "Oh well you teachers, you're all the same, you never llisten"

Me - "No, you're wrong, but it's my classroom and I AM going to speak, and when I am done, without interruptions then you can say your piece"
I then went on to explain that he has to catch up on missed work, that he doesn't have time to waste etc etc.

He then said "Yeah, but it's not me, it's Fred, he keeps reaching over and deleting my work and trying to switch my computer off".

I resisted the urge to rub my hands gleefully as I said
"Well then, you'll be happy to know that I am going to move you away from Fred next lesson, and then YOUR problem is solved because he won't be able to do that anymore. So therefore, I am doing what needs to be done to let you work and there will no longer be any reason for you to be off task, will there? No. Is there anything you'd like to say?"

Student's bottom lip is now jutting out so far it need's a special perch for it to rest on, because he realised that he can't outfox this wily old bird, and that his attempts to blame others gave me, in his eyes, the perfect reason to move him. Give them the rope (metaphorically speaking)....My real reason is to stop him from distracting the other students!!!

Home, cooked a smashing cheese and tomato omelette for my beloved. Then sorted the office out - finally, all of the stuff that has been displaced in the last few weeks has been returned to the correct places - I can see the desk, and the office floor. It's actually a reasonable sized room! All we need now are 6 more drawers, the doors for the wardrobe and one more tall unit - that's for Thursday night.

So, with a sense of liberation, possibly the effects of clearing up (who says Feng Shui is nonsense?), I found two blank canvases, ready to start two projects, both of which have been sat in my head for a while. If they work, I'll blip them, if they don't, you'll never see them.

Back off to finish my wine and to no doubt be snubbed by the cats again. They favour Corin's legs to mine. Harumph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.