Dad and Son

In all but genetics (according to James).
We have a green light to go ahead and provide Corin with legal rights in relation to the care and responsibility for James.
Agreement has also been reached with regards to contact and contributions.
Open conversation - not brutal, or argumentative, just very honest.
I was very pleased with how I handled myself - no stress, no 'tone' - matter of fact, well rehearsed, clear on fact and not accepting of excuses. Ultimately, there was nowhere else to go.
So hopefully now, Jimbo has an opportunity to re-engage with his natural father and to have the peace of mind that this wonderful man who he sees as his Dad, is the one who will take responsibility for him if I am not here.
That gives me peace of mind and no more reason to complain - contact and contributions can fall by the wayside - but commitment to care and recognition of that is worth more to me than anything in the world.
I will sleep easier tonight.

Thank you all so much for being so supportive whenever I have ranted and raved about the injustice of this situation previously - I feel it only right that you know how things are developing here and maybe share a little bit of the joy that results from it.

In other news- full back up has been done. Computer is off to be fixed - data recovery might not be an option, but at the end of the day, I'll only be missing some photos and the ones that are important have been archived via FB and Flickr in some way. Material stuff - seems trivial now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.