Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Village Hall

I was expecting to be showing you a picture of the very lovely Richard Butler of The Psychadelic Furs today, but things didn't go entirely to plan.

I have tickets to their gig in Frome, Somerset. Odd venue I thought as it's a village in the West Country and they are mega!

I imagines there would be no problems taking pictures, but not so. I was told on the gate that the band had requested no pictures tonight. After further proof of my identity in the form of Press card and business card, the band's manager came out and explained that this was their warm up gig and they were a little nervous about how it would go. Pics in the future, fine, but not tonight.

The Grain and Cheese is little more than a village hall, run in a a charmingly amateur way, by diligent locals. The sound system low key and the lighting rig, minimalist, so I wouldn't have got great pictures without being quite obtrusive with my lighting technique.

So I left the camera in the car and enjoyed the concert.

They still have huge energy, charisma and charm. Richard Butler looks like he has a permanent smile on his face. They are also one of the most technically consistent bands I've ever seen. Even down to the saxophone solos.

Marvelous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.